“Don’t grieve. Anything you lose comes round in another form.” ― Rumi

I went to visit mom in NY.  I could feel an entire energy shift between her and myself after grandma’s passing.  Mom shared an interesting thought: everyone should grieve on their own, it’s a personal thing.  I thought about it.  Something clicked where I was no longer under the impact of my sadness.  I could be with facts.  I could allow the truth to be.  I could accept the facts.  Grandma is not with me in the physical form and I can honor her whenever I want to.  Her memory is with me and I am still around.

It’s almost like, allowing my heart to be broken, allowing the pain to come up, being willing to experience emotion that was truly there, allowed my heart to heal.  And this quote from Rumi was so completely perfect.  I know and see where my focus should be.  And grandma, I love and honor you.  Thank you for everything you are for me!

 

grandma and me, summer 2011

2 Comments on ““Don’t grieve. Anything you lose comes round in another form.” ― Rumi”

  1. Sky says:

    I agree with the thought regarding mourning in your own way. Have you heard of the concept of sitting shiva in Judaism? Close friends of the mourner may pay them a visit, but the practice involves just sitting with the grieved. No greetings are exchanged, and silence is maintained unless the bereaved wishes to discuss the matter. I think the idea is to enter into another’s grief and just be there with them in that difficult space.

    • ubuntuheart says:

      I haven’t heard of the concept you mentioned, but I can get the value of just being with things as they are. I have learned so much in the process and I am beginning to feel alive again


Leave a Reply

