The Storm…

I have found it so hard to actually write in the past few days given the storm and all the news and with overwhelming number of people I wanted to make sure were ok.  I remember September 11 in New York and the feeling of sadness and lethargy at the same time.  I noticed, with age and experience, I am more in tune with the overall vibe and I no longer have a tendency to try and cheer people up.  Not because I don’t believe that happiness is a state of mind but because being cheered up and happy isn’t the same.  And in times like this, when people lost lives, some lost homes or at least the comfort of their own home (electricity, hot water, etc), I think we need to tune in and listen.  I think we need to just be there, be present.  I think we need to give hugs and be compassionate.  There may or may not be something to do, help with, be a part of, but for the most part, in times like this, it’s not so much about what we DO, it  is about who we BE.

I find this to be a very crucial training for every woman. I have coached many women on their relationships and the most annoying thing ever is when “she” just can’t be.  There is always something to do, things to push through, places to get to.  This is a very masculine trait.  It isn’t bad, it isn’t wrong, it is just overwhelming sometimes and especially in times of grief, loss and sadness.  

As women, we are natural survivors.  We have all the skills to nourish people around us.  If we stay present, we unlock the secrets of our own abilities and, with that, we may unlock another heart.  

Take time today to just be with what is happening.  Allow yourself that piece of humanity.  I am not saying don’t be goal driven and ambitious, or to take your foot off of the gas pedal.  I am only saying, take some time to just BE and notice what opens up.

Sending love and healing to all effected by the storm and keeping the prayer that everyone is supported the best way that works for them.

Leave a Reply

