Spring cleaning in the fall

I recently shared with my colleagues: one of the ways I get myself out of the funk when I am in it. When I am not empowered, the key for me is to stop ALL action until I am back in the mindset that can actually allow me to do something that will create positive results.  And I don’t mean sit back and wait until I feel better, but stop all action in the particular area until I create enough of space to see things that I may have not have been able to see while in the midst of feeling stuck.

So what that looks like literally is: I do the spring cleaning.  I look around me at the space where I spent time or do work and I clean it up.  I may clean a desk drawer.  I may go into my closet and get rid of clothes I am not wearing or that I think no longer represent me and give those away.  Mostly, I try to move something physically until I feel motivated enough that I actually want things to be better and feel like that there is a light at the end of the tunnel.

When things are sorted out in my environment, I am naturally pulled to do something.  If I am still not clear at this point what there is for me to do, then I begin with a set of obvious actions and I make sure I complete those first.  As I complete those, my confidence grows, I feel better about myself and at this point I am already having an empowering  surroundings and enough evidence of producing small results that I am beginning to see the glimpses of big picture.

And BINGO!!! That is the key… Seeing the big picture that I am inspired by that I can now physically and mentally connect to at which point I need to manage taking small steps to get to where I want to be… I don’t have to question it, I don’t doubt myself as I have created a clear surroundings that allowed me to think straight, think on my own and connect to my inner desires.

This is what I am in a midst of doing.  I am clearing my surroundings to make sure I can see clearly. And I am already feeling the smell of fresh air and inspiration for what is possible in future.  I know it’s fall (and it’s usually when things are in “fall’) that spring cleaning is the best thing to do.

Please share with me how you get unstuck when you are stuck and if you do the spring cleaning, tell me what it provides for you?

Leave a Reply

