Decluttering, clearing, letting go

I had this huge revelation in working with my clients in the past weeks… Almost every time something isn’t working, the first place I see as a barrier to it, is the place where there is too much of something, clutter, solid thinking and past attachments.  So, I would naturally share some of my tools in how to declutter the space around them, clear the stuff that is no longer working for them and let go of everything that isn’t who and how they want to be in the future or even right now in the PRESENT.

I realized that all of my life successes, from the smallest wins to the biggest achievements were created from NOTHING, in a space that wasn’t already crowded by old ideas, things I didn’t need or thoughts that no longer served me.

When it comes to decluttering, physical space is not the only thing do clear, but it’s often a good place to start.  Last week I went through my closet and put away all the things that made me feel too old, too rigid, or simply didn’t compliment my body in the way I would like it to.  I noticed the old pattern of not wanting to get rid of something just because it was too expensive or because I felt like I need to have it “just in case” of some occasion which never came my way.  Or simply feeling bad that I only wore those red shoes once in my American sister’s wedding and they were pricey so I needed to squeeze some value out of them.

You may laugh and think I broke through this easily but I didn’t.  In fact, I took a picture of the things I took out of my closet, shoes and clothes and I posted them on a local facebook group.  But not one person responded yet.  So, unless one of my closest friends feels like she’d take something, I will be donating the entire collection of j crew, banana republic, bergdorf goodman and alike stuff to charity and write it off for taxes.  This way I will satisfy my mind (always worried about being wasteful) and will still let it go.

I hope this little reminder helps.  Spring is near.  Start clearing little things.  For every space you clear, something new can come to replace it…Take it  one-step-at-the-time 🙂

To clarity and purpose,

Marija

2 Comments on “Decluttering, clearing, letting go”

  1. Regina Rossi says:

    Thank you so much Marija for writing this, I request your support because I totally realize I have so many attachments to clothes and other items in my home, from conversations of family memories or I don’t have any money to replace for new shoes for clothes. As I wrote this I am noticing I am surrounded by so many conversations of scarcity, so I hold on.

    So grateful for you in my life, looking forward to seeing you tomorrow and going further into this conversation, and Yes I need You to take the actions of decluttering and letting go.

    Xo from my authentic mind and heart

    Regina Rossi -Lamothe

    • ubuntuheart says:

      So awesome to notice that!!! I will be more than thrilled to help you 🙂 And when we allow ourselves to be more gentle, to not have it all have to happen over night, to ask for support etc etc…it all becomes easy 🙂 I can’t wait to do this together 🙂 Love you with all of my heart


Leave a Reply

